• 设为首页
  • 点击收藏
  • 手机版
    手机扫一扫访问
    迪恩网络手机版
  • 关注官方公众号
    微信扫一扫关注
    公众号

sql - How ROWNUM works in pagination query?

[复制链接]
菜鸟教程小白 发表于 2022-4-23 21:05:34 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式 打印 上一主题 下一主题

So I want to select a range of rows in an Oracle DB. I need to do this because I have millions of rows in the table and I want to paginate results to the user (if you know another way to do this on the client side, I'm using JavaFX if it matters but I don't think it's a good idea to send all the datas over the network to paginate them on the client side).

So after reading this post: SQL ROWNUM how to return rows between a specific range, I have the following query:

Select * From (Select t.*, rownum r from PERSON t) Where r > 100 and r < 110;

The 100 and 110 are just example. In the application, I just ask for the lower bound and add a size of 10_000 to fetch the next 10_000 rows.

Now the rownum column appears in the result and I don't want to see it. As I'm not very experienced with SQL, here's my questions:

1. Why (this was my first attempt until I search on SO) Select * From Person Where rownum > 100 and rownum < 110; returns 0 rows ?

2. Why there is no simple way to do something like Select ... FROM ... WHERE rownum BETWEEN lowerBound AND upperBound ?

3. How to get rid of the r column in the resulting values? From there SQL exclude a column using SELECT * [except columnA] FROM tableA? I need apparently to create a view or a temporary table, but is there another way considering my query?

4. Does it ensure correct pagination? I read this article section "agination with ROWNUM", that said I should order the values by something unique to get a consistent pagination (so I guess ordering by rownum is fine, if you can confirm). Doesn't it defeat the purpose of using FIRST_ROWS(N)?

I hope it's not too much, I could split into separate questions, but I think it's relevant to have them collapsed as they are closely related.

Best Answer-推荐答案